calzones (empanada dough)

My third attempt at calzones. The first time around, I used a random bread dough, with lots of oil to make sure it was good. The second time, my first time with pastry, I cooked the crap out of them. Not great (plus, with the heat here, pastry is really hard to do, the butter just instantly melts). The last time I did calzones, the dough was much better to work with but that’s when my oven broke and I had to  fry them. It was a slight disaster. This time, I wanted to try an empanada dough from the Bourke Street Bakery. The dough was nice, really easy to work with. However, Kyle suggests to give the pastry dough another go.

Empanada dough
From Bourke Street Bakery
Yield 6: 5.5inch in diameter

Mix:
225 g all purpose flour
4g salt
Make a well, add:
105 ml chilled water
1/2 tsp vinegar
1/2 egg
25 g suet (I substituted butter)
Fork it until combined.
Knead for 3 minutes.
Rest for 5.
Knead for 5, until smooth and elastic.
Cover, refrigerate for 2 hours.
Roll out, 2mm thick.
230° C for 20 minutes

 

I fried onions in some leftover basil butter, added chunks of pepperoni, olives, capers, anchovies, and a tin of stewed tomatoes, seasoned and added some fresh basil. Reduced it until it was thick enough for pocket filling. Rolled out the dough, put cheese down, filling, cheese on top. Crimped the edges with a fork. *Used a pizza cutter to trim the edges nicely. *Bake on lower rack to get a more even browning or try convection?

 

feel free, to please, leave a reply...

