spicy peanut benne wafers

  

I had a new motor and pestle. I had some peanuts. I had a friend I needed to thank for all the translating she’s done for me lately.

I asked her if she liked peanuts.  She said she likes spicy peanuts. So I came up with these.

Spicy Peanut Benne Wafers
Yield: 24'ish

Cream until fluffy:
80 g light brown sugar
30 g butter
1/2 tsp of chili oil

Beat in:
1 egg yolk
10 g water

Sift, mix with wet until smooth:
30 g flour
1/8 tsp salt
1/8 tsp baking powder

Add, til  mixed:
1/2 tsp vanilla
35 g crushed peanuts

Drop tsp's onto parchment paper, leaving room to spread
Sprinkle with salt

180 degrees for 12-13 min til brown
Cool on pan for 2 min, then to wire rack
*I may need more flour

    

They were great right out of the oven. Crispy. Just spicy and sweet enough.  I would do a more course peanut, so you get more of a crunch.  With the humidity, they went soft almost immediately (I’ve tweaked the recipe again to try and fix this. We’ll see…)

feel free, to please, leave a reply...

